What is Data Anonymization?

It is the process of removing all personally identifiable information from your database, including data that relates to your contacts, interactions, surveys and reported issues.

When should I anonymize my data?

You should anonymize your data when you no longer have a legal basis to retain personally identifiable data, for example after a specific campaign has ended.
This will enable you to comply with Data Protection legislation.

Will I lose all my account statistics?

No, the statistics will be collated and is accessible via the Analytics page.

However, none of the personal data will be accessible and all the contacts in the database will no longer be accessible to you.

By default, any person who has given you their consent will be excluded when you opt to anonymize your data.

You may include contacts who have given their consent, by checking the box in the "Anonymize your Data" window.

Can any user activate Data Anonymization?

Data Anonymization is a restricted feature and can only be activated by Account Owners and Account Managers. 

How do I Anonymize my data?

Step 1
Navigate to your Privacy Dashboard page, where you will find the "Anonymize data linked to your contacts" option and click on the row.

Step 2

A dialog window will open and you will be presented with a breakdown of the number of contacts, interactions, and issues that will be anonymized and deleted from your account.

Tick the checkbox if you want to include contacts who have given their consent in the anonymization action.

When you ready to proceed with anonymizing your data, click NEXT then CONFIRM.

Step 3

Before you start the final step, you will be asked to re-confirm that you are content to

proceed with anonymizing your data as there is no mechanism to undo this process once you have clicked this final confirm.

Step 4

Depending on how much data is in your account, the Anonymization process may time quite some time to complete.

You will receive a notification on the dashboard when your data anonymization has completed, as well as an update in your activity feed on the homepage, for example:

Did this answer your question?