This article applies to customers who created Ecanvasser accounts after

8th February 2021


If you have billing permission, you can activate Locked licenses to specific users.

How to Activate a Locked License

There are a number of options available to activate a Locked license:

Option 1 - Activate a Locked license for an existing user

  • In your Ecanvasser account, navigate to the Members Directory page and click the checkbox next to the name of the user you want apply a Locked license to.
    Pro tip - to save you time, you can bulk activate many users at the time, simply check all the boxes that you want to activate

  • Next, select the ACTIVATE LOCKED LICENSE option and the user(s) selected will now have access to your Ecanvasser account based on their permission level.

Option 2 - Activate Locked License During Invite Workflow

  • You can activate a user's license during the Invite User workflow by simply selecting YES next to the Activate Locked License option in the Invite window before you send the email/sms invitation.

  • Once the user accepts the invitation to join your account, they will be able to access the Ecanvasser dashboard and mobile app based on their permission level.

Option 3 - Activate Locked license to an invited user

  • You can also activate Locked licenses for users who have already been invited to join your account but have not yet competed the sign up process.

  • Navigate to the Members Directory page, then click the INVITES tab.
    This will display the list of invited users who have not yet accepted their invitation.

  • Click the checkbox next to the name of the invited user(s) you want to activate.

  • Next, select the ACTIVATE LOCKED LICENSE option and the invited user(s) selected will now have access to your Ecanvasser account based on their permission level once they complete the sign up process (ie. accept their email/sms invitation to join your account).


How do I know if a user has a Locked License ?

The following symbol appears after the name of all user who's license has been activated.

Note - account owners are always counted as a Locked licensed user and this License cannot be revoked.


How to Revoke a Locked or Shared License

Users with Billing Permission can revoke Locked or Shared licenses for users at any time.

These are the available options;

Option 1 - Revoke license of existing user(s)

  • Navigate to the Members Directory page and click the checkbox next to the name(s) of the user(s) you want to revoke the user license from.
    Time saver pro tip - to bulk revoke many users at the time, simply check all the boxes that you want to activate

  • Next, select the REVOKE LICENSE option and the user(s) selected will no longer have access to your Ecanvasser account.

  • The users licenses will remain revoked on the account until they attempt to log in again, at this point they will be assigned a shared License only.

Option 2 - Revoke a user license for an invited user

  • You can revoke the license from users who have already been invited to join your account but have not yet competed the sign up process.

  • Navigate to the Members Directory page, then click the INVITES tab.
    This will display the list of invited users who have not yet accepted their invitation.

  • Click the checkbox next to the name of the invited user(s) you want to activate.

  • Next, select the REVOKE LICENSES option and the invited user(s) selected will not have access to your Ecanvasser account once they complete the sign up process (ie. accept their email/sms invitation to join your account).


How to Purchase Additional User Licenses

For subscription customers, your payment plan includes a set number of user licenses - visit the pricing page for the latest price plans available.


However, you may want to purchased additional user licenses as your team grows.

There are a two options available to purchase additional user licenses:

Option 1 - From the Member Directory

When you attempt to activate Locked licenses that exceeds the number of user licenses that are included in your subscription, you will receive an alert similar to the example below that lets you know that you will need to buy X more seats (licenses).

Click on CONTINUE TO CHECKOUT if you want to proceed with purchasing more user licenses;

This option is restricted to users with Billing Permission.

Next you will be presented with a summary of your order that includes the number of user licenses that you are adding to your subscription which includes the estimated cost of your next invoice.

We recommend that you review the available subscription plans and consider upgrading to the next plan instead, depending on how many user licenses you need to purchase.

Option 2 - From the Account Settings

This option is restricted to users with Billing Permission.

Navigate to the account settings page and scroll down to the Manager User Licenses sections.

Next click the SETTINGS button which will open a window similar to the image below.

Here you can see:

  • how many user licenses are included in your plan

  • how many additional user licenses you have already purchased (if any)

  • how many of the user licenses are currently in use, i.e. how many user licenses have already been assigned to users

To purchase additional user licenses, update the amount in the "Additional Licenses" section and click CONTINUE.

You will be brought to the CHECKOUT window as with option 1 above.

Click COMPLETE PURCHASE once you are happy to proceed with purchasing the additional user licenses:

Option 3 - From Manage Licences

You can learn more about difference between Locked and Shared Licenses here


If you have any additional questions please contact us using the in-app chat or send an email to support@ecanvasser.com

Did this answer your question?